T for Tom

Too Cynical

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsontoms on November 30, 2009

I’m too cynical so let’s try this again:

Someone told me, when God created the earth he made it so perfectly that the only thing left was watch it burn, so he populated it with the likes of men.  If that’s true, I believe we owe our favor to the memories darkening the gates of our mind.  Like a shadow we don’t want, we have the lovers who have left us, the families who have raised us, and the dreams we never accomplished to give us all the reasons we need to call the bar home.  And since I’m no bastion of excellence, I’ll fill you in on what haunts my nights: a .264 lifetime batting average.  Good enough to live, bad enough to not live well.  My suitors have been many, each promising something different that might get my swing up, speed my bat up, or get my glove down quicker: Nantucket, Peoria, Sioux Falls, they all come and go.  But what else does a man like me have to live for?  I just keep swinging the bat, and occasionally good things come my way, kind of like the high breaking-ball; swing for the fences when you get a chance like that.

I’m not seeing many of those chances any more, though.  And now the sunrise of my life is fading to evening, as quickly as the afternoon didn’t even exist.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. johnsontoms said, on February 21, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I sound so snob, use common language and words.


Leave a Reply

