T for Tom

#2.5

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsontoms on February 24, 2010

I posted that and realized it should’ve come from Henry Chinaski.  I need my own altar ego.  I’m not good at this but that’s the point, isn’t it?

#2.5

People, can you feel it? Love is everywhere.

It’s in the way you said goodbye after six long years.

His name was Robert, or Dick, or something.

Love’s in the way you walked through the room where I saw you for the first time,

The way your ass moved caught my eye

but it wasn’t love, yet.

It’s in the way I was chased

through six months of loving another woman

until you took me to your room and swept me away.

It’s in the glass on the shelf,

the only one left after you threw the rest against the wall.

“I don’t love you anymore. That’s why!”

I remember exactly what you said, but I didn’t need a reason from you.

You were leaving, you left.

And now that glass is full of scotch.

Soon it will be empty again,

and the frequency of it’s change reminds me of the bed in my room

that sees a different woman each night,

each with their charm but none of them lasting as long as you.

It’s not in the way these women love me,

It’s in the way I pass the time while they sleep.

But I’ve poured another glass.

Can you feel it? Love is everywhere.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. johnsontoms said, on February 26, 2010 at 12:38 am

    This poem is terrible.


Leave a Reply

