T for Tom

I’ve Never Met Him

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsontoms on February 26, 2010

I’ve never met him

but

John Robert Shaw

must’ve been in some kind of trouble.

I know his name because

he left all of his belongings in my garage.

Postcards, pictures,

a box of clothes,

hobbies, furniture, paintings.

I only know his name because I found

his birth certificate that was jammed in the bottom of a briefcase.

and now I know the life story of a man

I’ll never meet.

but

I have no room to talk.

This is my home now because

I’m unemployed

and my friends are letting me sleep under their roof.

I guess you have to be

some kind of down and out

to have

nowhere to turn.

Leave a Reply

