T for Tom

I Wish My Mind Worked Like a Child

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsontoms on July 4, 2011

I wish my mind still worked like a child

Staring at a train not thinking all the while

That fire starts the engine starts the chains starts the wheels

but instead if I could drive how stupendous I would feel.

 

Watching mountains with their trees turn to grassy plains and fields

sloping over hills coast to coast north to south west to east

taking mail, picking boxes, making scheduled stops and times

knowing only tomorrow brings another place to find.

But I’d probably hate it now thinking of all it would take.

From the amount of sleep to the amount of pay.

I’m not sure what’s the bigger shame,

never having driven or the chance I didn’t take.

Leave a Reply

