T for Tom

Breakfast Is On Its Way

Posted in poem by johnsontoms on December 19, 2011

Breakfast is on its way

Too bad for me its supper

Having not eaten at all or slept at all

And unfortunately its not because I was making love all night

To a woman who knew my name

But instead because I’m on a plane getting farther away

From the only girl right now in the world who even smiles when I’m around.

And now she’s not around and this could be my last country breakfast,

Toast and eggs,

To remind me of home.

So when it’s gone maybe I’ll have nothing to keep the memories fresh.

On the other side of the world maybe she’ll have breakfast every now and then

And think of me.

Leave a Reply

