T for Tom

Day 16 – Blood On The Tracks – 1975

Posted in A Dylan A Day by johnsontoms on July 8, 2016

blood.jpg

Needing no introduction, I’ve been looking forward to Blood On The Tracks. I can say that in my young adulthood, I went through Bob Dylan purposefully, but I followed the trail set before me. One by one I went from Freewheelin’ to Bringing It All Back Home to Highway 61 and straight to Blood On The Tracks. After those came Blonde On Blonde and the rest, but it was a series of conscious decisions – start with the first, move on to the two most important (which to my knowledge and understanding were like sister albums), and then to the biggest of them all, the least understood, the most enigmatic. The legend of the man persists because of the legend in Blood On The Tracks.

Though Dylan has caustically denied it from the start, Blood On The Tracks is a representation of the dissolution of his marriage, and about looking forward while trying not to look back. From the first mention of Simple Twist of Fate, “They sat together in the park,” over that low and bumblingly sad bass line, that somehow teeters on the verge of acceptance – this song is the strongest crossing of age, wisdom, pain, and forgiveness.

And yet it all happened from a simple twist of fate.

I could go on and on about this record, its power, its strength. But everyone needs to meet it on their own terms. I met it on mine about 10 years ago now, and I keep it there.


Song: “Simple Twist of Fate”

Try not to cry.

Leave a Reply

